GRWM: Wedding Guest Look

Last week I had the honour of getting to see my two friends join together in marriage. Considering that I hadn’t been to a wedding in a long time, I took this opportunity to document the look I put together for such a special event. From make-up to hair to the outfit, here is my wedding guest look.

The Make-Up:

I always go for a matte finish complexion and this event was no exception. I started with a light-weight, zero SPF moisturiser then primed my skin with a mattifying base. To increase the coverage and longevity of my make-up, I dusted a little bit of loose powder over the primer. This is going also really going to help with controlling the oil throughout the night. Wayne Goss did an in-depth video on this technique, so make sure to check it out here. After foundation, I used a corrector to combat my dark circles and used concealer over it to really hide the darkness and brighten the eyes. I then set everything with a compact powder.

20160210_134645
(L-R): Beauty Blender, Face of Australia Translucent Loose Powder, M.A.C Blot Powder (Light), Real Techniques Multi-Task Brush, Bobbi Brown Corrector (Light-Med Peach), Maybelline Fit Me Concealer (Light) and L’Oreal Inffalible Pro-Matt Foundation (Rose Beige).
20160210_134943
(L-R): Lorac Pro Palette, Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette, Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler, Essence Lash and Brow Gel, Urban Decay Naked 24/7 Glide-On Double-Ended Eye Pencil, Maybelline Illegal Length Waterproof Mascara, The Face Shop Design My Eyebrow Pencil and Australis Eyeshadow Primer

I kept my brows pretty simple, creating a rounded, slightly arched brow. Nothing too dramatic. After setting the brows with some brow gel and applying some eye-shadow primer, I go into my beloved Lorac Pro palette to create my look for the night. All I needd was one brush. Start off with a matte base colour to cancel any veiny-ness and take a light bronze colour as a wash all over the lid. Taking a red/burgundy shadow and focus this on the outer corner of the eyes. To intensify the look take a dark purple shade and use circular motions to focus this on the outer-v of the lids. If this isn’t enough drama for the eyes, take matte dark brown into the outer corner then use what’s left to blend all the shadows together. Taking that same brown shadow I blended a little bit of it on the bottom outer lash-line to balance out the look. For a more wearable, everyday look I recommend using the Naked Basics Palette for a natural looking eye look.  I kept the eyeliner simple with a small wing on the end, I didn’t line my upper lash line. Instead I just took my mascara and really worked it into the roots to give the illusion of a tightlined lashline. Finish off the look with some highlighter on the brow bone.

20160210_1350099

 

For the cheeks I added a bit of bronzer so I don’t look so pale and a gorgeous shimmery blush to give my face that extra bit of life while giving a nice subtle glow and highlight. To tie the look together I decided to go for a red-ish/pink lip which appears as a stain on the lip and lasted me throughout the night.

20160210_135528
Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush (Pink Rose), The Body Shop Honey Bronzer (01), Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain (Adore)
SOULSESSIONS (1)
Here is a close-up of the make-up look. Nothing too fancy, a subtle smoky eye, rounded brows and a nice lipstain. Imperfections can still be seen through the make-up.

The Hair:

I decided to go for some soft, delicate-looking Hollywood waves. I had my hair done by Francis at Hairhouse Warehouse. To give my hair a little more body and volume we decided to tease my hair a little as well. However as the night went on, my waves had dropped significantly leaving me with a subtle tousled look. But this was to be expected since my hair is naturally quite straight so and curls don’t last very long on me.

The Outfit:

I decided to stray away from my usual black/white/navy colour palette and chose a nice high low purple dress from Seduce. I complemented the look with black and gold accents on the accessories.

SOULSESSIONS
Dress: Seduce, Clutch: Colette Hayman, Shoes: Forever New, Earrings: Lovisa, Necklace: mum’s.

This whole look is a little bit out of my comfort zone (I practically live in sneakers, jeans and a tee) but it turned out much nicer than I thought but I hope this post was helpful or inspired a look for you.

9 thoughts on “GRWM: Wedding Guest Look

Leave a Reply

