EMPTIES #1 Ft: Avene, The Body Shop & The Face Shop

Happy Thursday everyone! Today I have collated products that I’ve used up over the past couple of months. I have quite a few skincare items along with some make-up too so sit back as I enlighten you with my thoughts and feels on the products!

20160210_132420The Cleansers:

Garnier Clean Sensitive 2-in-1 Make-Up Remover: When I’m in need of an affordable, high quality make-up remover that can take off my waterproof mascara and eyeliner, this is the one that does it. It’s an oil based remover that you have to shake to combine liquids. I soak it in a cotton pad, hold it to my eye for a few seconds and wipe off the make-up. There is no need for rubbing so it won’t to cause pre-mature wrinkles! However I don’t like to use this for the rest of the face because I find that it leaves a little bit of an oily residue. But it’s really really great for the eyes, it’s non-irritating and I’ve re-purchased it several times now.

The Body Shop: Camomille Sumptuous Cleansing Butter: I bought this on a whim for my trip to Vietnam last year as bringing a liquid make-up remover would be inconvenient. So I decided to go for a solid alternative. I knew this had good reviews but I underestimated how good it is. It feels a little weird scooping out the butter with the fingers but once you get past that it’s so satisfying to watch the make-up just melt away within the butter texture. After rinsing with water, there’s no weird residue. I did notice that my eyes did sting a little after rinsing. That might just be me but it’s something to think about. This was all I needed to removed my face, eye and lip make-up so it’s perfect for travel. I’d definitely buy this again for my next trip.

Dove Oil Control Cleanser: I don’t even remember how many bottles of this I’ve gone through. It’s $6 and it does the job of cleaning my face. It’s clay consistency really helps to get into the pores and cleans out all the oil, dirt and muck. I don’t feel like my skin is dried out afterwards and it doesn’t break me out so…what more could I ask for?

Formula 10.0.6 So Totally Clean Everyday Cleasner, Sensitive Formula: Another favourite of mine that’s been purchased countless of times. It works as a really great toner and I feel that it’s quite effective with controlling acne. I’ve also tried the original formula (the orange one) and it’s much more potent and can be a little too strong so I would suggest trying the sensitive formula first. I swear by this but lately I have been trying to cut out chemically strong products so for now I won’t repurchase but I would still recommend for acne-prone people.

The Moisturisers:

Avene Eau Thermale: It seems like a bit of a gimmick to just spray water on your face. Despite how pointless it might seem, it really helped to reduce my redness and calm down my acne. If you ever get that stinging sensation from a lotion or something then spraying this on top will really help to soothe the skin from irritation. I finished the 10ml bottle and I’m now more than halfway with my 300m20160210_132659l bottle. I’ve also been using this in place of a toner and so far it’s working well! It’s also really great for adding moisture over make-up. It’s not a must-have product but I think it’s a really nice treat for the face so definitely give it go!

Neutrogena Hydroboost Night Concentrate: This is my second tub of this wondrous night-time moisturiser. I remember the first night I used this and I woke up with my skin looking and feeling so soft and supple. It’s really great for the winter season where my skin is a little drier. I highly recommend this for all skin types. I haven’t repurchased this recently because it is quite expensive (for me it is anyway), but I feel like this is definitely worth the splurge.

Olay Total Effects Anti-Aging Eye Cream: In the photo it looks like there’s still product in the tub but I put in a sample of another eye cream I’m trying at the moment. I’ve used other, cheaper eye creams but this one is by the far the best I’ve tried. It does have a slight luminosity to it because of the micro shimmers in the cream but it fades away after a little while. I used this every night and after some time I did notice that my little fine line under my eyes slowly faded away. My mum and I used this together and unfortunately this wasn’t as effective on her fine lines so she’s still on the hunt for a better eye cream. But I worked great on me so definitely recommend!

The Make-Up:

Maybelline Illegal Length Mascara, Waterproof: This is my all time favourite mascara, I’ve tried others but this one takes the cake. It lengthen20160210_132724s and gives just enough volume for my tiny asian lashes and it doesn’t smudge either. I can achieve natural looking lashes with one coat or build it up for a false lash effect. I do want to try other drug store alternatives so if you have any suggestions, let me know!

The Face Shop Design My Eyebrow Pencil: For under $10 this is my go-to brow pencil. Originally I prefer the Etude House eyebrow pencil but it’s a little harder to get my hands on so this will have to do. My favourite thing about this pencil is it’s wedge shaped pencil. I tried the oh so famous Brow Wiz by Anastasia but it took forever to fill in my brows. This gets the job done, stays put all day long and it’s affordable. I’ve already purchased my second pencil so this definitely gets two thumbs up!

If you have any products to recommend leave them in the comments below. See you guys next week! xx

13 thoughts on “EMPTIES #1 Ft: Avene, The Body Shop & The Face Shop

  1. Hi Le Wendy,
    I love these products–Neutrogena, camomille, etc.
    I found you on Danny Ray’s site. I am a friend of his. You mentioned you were a new blogger. I help new bloggers at my site. I brought you the link to my About page, so you can read what my blog can do for you. Suggestions for engaging readers, improving content, and increasing traffic are waiting for you. I also offer free incentives for subscribing.
    http://mostlyblogging.com/about/
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been wanting to try out the Camomile cleansing butter! I’ve heard great things about it – I’m currently using the Clinique cleansing balm so I’m going to wait until that runs out 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

