REVIEW: Kevyn Aucoin Sensual Skin Enhancer

When it comes to base products, my main concerns are coverage (for acne scars and dark circles) and longevity (for my oily skin). I’m always online reading reviews on different concealers that will combat these concerns and after years of just eyeing this particular product I was finally able to get my hands on it and believe me…it was worth my hard-earned dollars. Allow me to introduce to you the Kevyn Aucoin Sensual Skin Enhancer.

20160129_122331
I used the shade SX05 (neutral undertones) which matches really well with my nc20/25 skin tone.

The Claims:
This is a multi-purpose product that can be watered down to sheer or built up to full coverage. It’s variety of shades (there’s 15 shades!) allow you to use the product as a concealer, highlight or contour. The formulation is also made to be waterproof, sweat-proof and long lasting. I bought the Sensual Skin Enhancer just before my trip to Vietnam so I figured it was the perfect time to test it and try it in both Australian and Vietnam weather.

The Packaging and Application:
Be aware that this product comes in a tiny pot similar in size to a Blistex lip balm pot. But a little bit of this product is more than enough to not only cover the problem areas of your skin but also even out your whole complexion. Gentle swipe the product from the tub or you can use a spatula. I concentrated more product on problem areas such as my dark circles and acne scars. Then I distributed the tiniest amount all over my face to even out my complexion. I used my fingers to blend it all out. The product can feel a little bit emollient and slightly sticky as it has quite a thick consistency, so I would recommend use a dense brush such as the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. If you’re looking for a more sheer and natural coverage, then a beauty blender is the way to go.

20160225_132647
(No make-up worn in the image. Only the concealer was used) Left side is with concealer, right eye has no concealer. Left eye is concealed and bright while right eye remains darker and duller.

The Wear:
I used a primer and powder with the product, which is what I normally use anyway with other concealer and foundation products. So the test really was to see if it could withstand Vietnam’s extreme heat, humidity, sweat and oiliness. When I blotted my face there was little transfer but the product was still in tact by the end of the day. It didn’t slide off as I had expected it to, it didn’t crease too much under my eyes but that’s easily fixed by blending it out with my finger. Overall it lasted really well. By the end of the day, I was oily and sweaty so it doesn’t do much for oil control but my skin was still looking even and almost flawless (with exception of a few breakouts). It also photographed well, I didn’t get weird lines, unevenness or a white cast in flash photography.

It might seems a little expensive but for such a multi-tasking product, I think it’s worth it. When using this product, make sure your skin is well exfoliated to avoid the product from emphasising dry patches or set with a powder if you’re oily like myself.

I purchased the Sensual Skin Enhancer online from Beauty Bay so make sure to look at multiple reviews and swatches to find your shade! If there’s a concealer you’d like to recommend leave it in the comments below. See you guys next week! xx

 

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: Kevyn Aucoin Sensual Skin Enhancer

    1. Beauty bay has a pretty good description of the shades. Also try googling “kevyn aucoin sensual skin enhancer mac shades” for a comparison of colours..that was one of the ways i tried to find my shade. Goodluck! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

