3 Products for Minimal Healthy Hair Maintenance Ft. Batiste, John Frieda & OGX

It sucks having hair that’s dry, brittle and coarse but it doesn’t take a lot to have healthy hair. By changing a few things in your haircare routine, I can promise at the very least your hair will be healthier than it was before. So here are the only 3 product you should have for healthy luscious hair.

  • Dry Shampoo: Let’s start with the obvious: Don’t shampoo/conditioner your hair everyday. I use to do this back in high school, I would wash my hair everyday only to find my hair getting oiler. Constant washing takes away your natural oils and so your scalp is going to produce even more oil if you keep washing away the nourishment your hair needs. Dry shampoo is like powder for your hair. It keeps the oil at bay in between washes. And thanks to dry shampoo, I’m able to go 2-3 days without washing my hair. During the holidays, when I’m not at uni or working I’ll try to go even 4 or 5 days without washing. And the result? Healthier and much stronger hair, it’s also a lot softer and shiner than ever before!

    20160324_153638
    John Frieda Frizz Ease Heat Defeat Heat Protector, Batiste Dry Shampoo in Tropical.
  • Heat Protectant: I think it’s safe to say you should void using heat on your hair where possible. I’ve been getting into the habit of letting my hair just air dry after a shower. BUT if you desperately need to blow-dry or run a straightener through or in need of a good curl then please make sure you use a heat protectant!!! I use to go without it as I thought it was pointless but boy was I wrong! It makes all the difference. Not only was it easier to brush through my hair but within a few weeks, my hair wasn’t as coarse and I had less breakage going on too. A tip I have for blow-drying your hair is to start with normal heat on the hair…when your hair is about 40% dry, change the heat to a cooler setting to dry off the rest. It’s less harsh on the hair but it does the job and your hair will look shiner too.

    20160324_153708
    Pantene Light Detangling Spray (Leave-In Conditioner), OGX Biotin and Collagen Weightless Healing Oil Treatment.
  • Hair Oils/Leave-In-Conditioner: Depending on your hair type, find a treatment or oil of some kind to leave in your hair over night or even during the day. Having some kind of product n your hair during that day not only is going to maintain the nourishment and moisture in your hair but it’s also going to protect it from the environment outside like harsh winds and pollution. If your hair is super dry then a hair oil will do wonders for giving that extra oomph of moisture, and brushing your hair is going to be a breeze.  It also helps to de-tangle your hair so you’re not ripping out when brushing it out and you’ll find you’ll have less split ends too! Lately I’ve been loving the oil treatment from OGX but the Pantene one is great for the day-time, won’t weigh down the hair.

Those are all my tips for healthier hair. I know these seem like fairly obvious tips but they’ve definitely helped me get my hair to a healthy state. My hair has never been more healthy or longer in my life, I use to always have shoulder length hair that was super dry and had a lot of breakage. It was so frizzy that I had to straighten it everyday. The last time it was shoulder length was back in December 2013, since then I’ve only had 2 trims and my hair has grown to almost elbow length!  So I hope these tips will be useful for you as well. Please feel free to share with your friends if they’re in need of help and advice. Comment below what some of your favourite hair products/tips are. I’ll see you all next week! xx

20160324_163334
Pretty happy with the length of hair lately, this is the longest it’s ever been! Please ignore the weird colour, bleached it years ago and still haven’t gotten round to fixing it 🙂

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

15 thoughts on “3 Products for Minimal Healthy Hair Maintenance Ft. Batiste, John Frieda & OGX

  1. I don’t know why, but the batiste dry shampoo doesn’t work so well on me. For some reason, it makes me hair oilier. Maybe I just don’t know how to apply it though or my hair is just too dense. Nonetheless, I’m still on the hunt for one that’s actually effective on my thick, thick hair.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Make sure you’re holding the can further from your head…this will make sure you have a thin and even layer of dry shampoo.
      CO-LAB is a good brand you might want to look into…it feels a little lighter than Batiste! ^^

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That could be the problem. I’m such a penny pincher, it hurts my heart when I use spraying products because some products go to waste which maybe the root of the problem since I do try to save the falling products by holding it closer haha.
        I’ll definitely look into CO-LAB though since I do like lighter products. Thanks for the recommendation!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

