Korean Beauty Haul + First Impressions Ft. Missha, Tony Moly & Skinfood

Happy Thursday everyone and welcome back for another blog post! Last week I received a massive k-beauty order I made back in March so today I wanted to show you some of my purchases and my first impressions of them. I stocked up on a few favourites but I also ordered a few products that I have yet to try and have a bit of hype to them, so here they are.

The Skincare

20160407_100705

Missha Essence Sun Milk SPF 50+++: I use sunscreen religiously on my face everyday to make sure my skin is protected from harmful UV ray’s all year long. But I find that there isn’t a very good selection of affordable sunscreens that sit well under makeup, that’s available in Australia. So this particular product caught my eye as it’s called a “milk essence” so I assumed it has a very thin and milky texture which I’m all for. I’ve been using for the past week and I’m loving it! It sits very well under my make-up. I have oily skin so I use a primer as well but by the end of the end I don’t feel oily and my skin feels super soft, will definitely be repurchasing.

Etude House Collagen Eye Cream: I had just finished up my sample of the Kiehl’s Creamy Avocado eye cream, I like it but the price tag is an issue for me so I went online to find something cheaper. And boy this is much cheaper. I bought the Etude House eye cream for around $10, I’ve only use it for 20160407_100746a week and I will never go back. This is an amazing eye cream for the price. It’s incredibly hydrating and thick, great for the night time, and this little tub will last me a long time. I love the silky texture and in the tub it kind of feels like a soft jelly so you can just swipe your finger over the surface of the cream and that’s more than enough to apply to your eyes. 10/10 for me.

Etude House Aloe Moistfull Soothing Lotion: This is an all time favourite of mine, but I’m running out so I had to stock up. For $12 this is one of the best moisturisers I’ve come across. I like to use this at night before bed, it’s light weight, doesn’t irritate and I wake up with super soft and smooth skin. I featured this in Lê Summer Edit (as well as the Innisfress Longwear Cushion) so you can read an more in-depth review of it there.

Missha Time Revolution First Treatment Essence and eye cream: I bought these primarily for my mum but we’re both sharing the essence. My mum is in her late 50’s and she’s been after a good eye cream and I’d thought I’d throw in the essence to see if it makes any significant changes to her skin. Also I heard the essence was a good dupe for the SK-II one and my mum was keen to try that but this was a cheaper alternative for us. So far so good, her skin doesn’t feel irritated but we haven’t seen any changes as of yet. My mum will keep using this over the next few months so I will be doing a separate blog post on anti-ageing products.

The Make-Up

Skinfood Salmon Dark Circle Concealer Cream: I ordered this hoping it would be a good dupe or alternative to my Bobbi Brown corrector but I found that it’s not as effective at diminishing the darkness under my eyes. I think it would work if your dark circles aren’t very intense as this has fairly light coverage, I found that you would have to build it up quite a bit to get good coverage. But by building up, it can feel a bit heavy. So I’m not sure about this one, I’ll need to keep using it for s few more weeks to really get and idea of how much I like this product.

20160407_100904
All have a very slight floral or soapy scent but nothing that will linger around so it shouldn’t be bothersome.

Holika Hollika Aqua Petite Jelly BB Cream: This BB cream as been around for a while now, I first heard about it back in high school when I was just getting into make-up. There are so many good reviews on this bad boy so I decided to give it ago. I can see why so many people like it, the jelly texture makes it super easy to blend and it feels very light on the skin. It has a satin finish so it could work for all skin types depending on if you use a primer or powder and what kind of day time moisturiser you use. Only downside is the shade range, which is very very limiting. I have this in the second shade which is the darkest so unfortunately most Korean face products are no darker than an NC25. But if you do have fair skin and have trouble finding your shade among western products then don’t be afraid to look into Korean products because chances are you’ll find a colour that matches you.

Etude House Lock N’ Summer Cushion in W13:  Unfortunately this shade is also the darkest shade available, sorry guys. But I wanted to try this cushion because it has some claims on being an oil controlling product. The only other cushion that’s targeted for oily skin that I’ve tried, is the Innisfree Longwear cushion and I love that one (even got a back-up ready). After about a week of using it, I find that it has more of a dewy finish but it will last with a good primer and powder. I don’t think this will last on me without a primer or powder, it’s definitely more dry skin friendly.

Etude House Dear Girls Oil Control Pact: The packaging of this powder is one of the cutest things I’ve seen to date. It’s this tiny little compact powder in a universal translucent shade. It kind of reminds me of the Essence All About Matt! powder, which I’ve also become very fond of. My only gripe with this powder so far is that because the compact is so small, it makes it a little hard to swirl your brush around but I can live with that. I need a little more time I see how well it keeps the oils at bay but so far no complaints. In fact, everything I’ve tried from this haul hasn’t caused any breakouts or irritations so I’m happy.

20160407_151108
Swatches left to right: Holika Holika’s Aqua Petite Jelly BB Cream in no. 2, Etude House’s Lock N’ Summer Cushion BB Cream in w13, Skinfood Salmon Dark Circle Concealer Cream in no. 2 and Tony Moly’s 7 Day Tattoo Eyebrow in Dark Brown.

Tony Moly 7 Day Tattoo Eyebrow: I’ve known about this product for a while now as well and I’ve always wondered how these eyeliner-like pens would work on the brows and so far I’m not quite sure how I feel about it. There’s a learning curve to using this because it’s easy for you to mess up. Kind of like when you first use liquid liner, and the line just looks squiggly because your hands kept shaking. But I love that you can still use a spoolie to brush and blend it out if it’s looking too harsh which can easily happen with a product like this. I got this in Dark Brown which is a little dark for me but it’s nothing I can’t pull off. It definitely lasts all day so if you’re sweating or your skin is super oily then this is gonna power right through that. But I don’t know if I would say it’s waterproof, but more water resistant. When I swatched it on my hand, I was able to wash it off with soap and water but it left a slight brown hue on my hand so, that might be something you wanna think about when looking into eyebrow tints.

And that’s everything~! I know this week was a long one, I hope I didn’t bore you by the end. If you did read til the end, then thank you so much! What are some of your favourite Korean products? Have you tried Korean products before? If not, what would want to look into? I didn’t really get any eye or cheek products but there’s always next time! If you’re wondering, I bought all the products from Cosmetic Love and Ibuybeauti! Feel free to share and comment below. I’ll see you all next week! xx

20160407_100619

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

20 thoughts on “Korean Beauty Haul + First Impressions Ft. Missha, Tony Moly & Skinfood

Leave a Reply

