Current Cushion Foundation Frenzy Ft. L’Oreal, Innisfree & Lancôme

Hello hello beautiful people~! Lately I’ve been on a bit of a cushion foundation frenzy so I’d thought I’d share with you the cushion foundations I currently have on rotation. I discovered cushion foundations early last year and honestly the idea of a foundation soaked in a sponge just seemed weird but, after trying out a few of these bad boys I must say it is now probably my favourite form of foundation.

Processed with VSCO
Both cushions have an SPF of 50 PA+++ so they might not be photograph friendly.
Innisfree Longwear Cushion: When I was doing my research on this foundation, many people said that the shade range was running a little lighter than usual. At the time, only three shades were available and I went for the darkest no. 23 which isn’t dark at all! But luckily for me, it matched me fairly well. It’s about half a shade lighter but I kind of the like the way it makes me look a little more radiant. Of all the cushions I mention in this post, this cushion is my favourite. I have fairly oily skin so I always have to use a primer and powder no matter what foundation I use and this one just sits so well on my skin, it looks super natural, keeps my oiliness at bay, doesn’t break me out and has a very beautiful medium coverage finish. I love it! I just finished it and I already have a back-up ready to go.

These shades are suitable for someone who is around NC20-NC25. Shades from left to right: Innisfree Longwear Cushion in #23, Etude House Lock N’ Summer Cushion Foundation in W13, L’Oreal Nude Magique Cushion Foundation in 03 Vanilla and Lancôme’s Miracle Cushion Foundation in 02 Beige Rose.
Etude House Lock N’ Summer BB Cushion: I wanted to see if there were any other alternatives targeted towards oily skin and this one sounded pretty good considering it claims “sebum control” just like Innisfree’s cushion. Unfortunately, this cushion has an incredibly limited shade range as well, with only two shades on offer. This cushion has a slightly stronger, soapy fragrance, and it definitely has more of a dewy finish as opposed to Innisfree which has a more satin finish. The oil control isn’t as good as Innisfree’s so it might suit better for people with normal to combination skin, depending on how oily you are you, you might need to blot. Otherwise it’s a really great light to medium coverage cushion.

L’Oreal Nude Magique Cushion Foundation: I believe this is the first drugstore cushion to hit the market in Australia. This definitely more on the dewy side, so for me I had to powder a lot to lock it down but this is perfect for me to use during the winter season, and really great for those with dry skin. Trust me, you won’t need a highlighter with such a luminescent base. It doesn’t have too much of a strong scent, and it hasn’t agitated my skin so thumbs up for acne-prone beauties! This cushion is also the only one that doesn’t offer re-fill cartridges. The rest of the cushions I’m mentioning in this post all have a removable cartridge so that when you do run out, you can just purchase the cushion itself rather than getting a whole new compact. But with that being said, the L’Oreal cushion is the slimmest and most compact of all the rest mentioned.

Lancôme Miracle Cushion Foundation: This was the first high-end cushion foundation that I came across. I actually wrote an in-depth review of this a while back so you can have a read of it if you’re curious. But to keep it simple, this is cushion also leans more on the dewy side. It is quite a pricey product so if you’re after a dewy finish cushion, the L’Oreal cushion is a good alternative. It has a light to medium coverage which is definitely buildable. You’ll find that there is a much better shade range if you’re darker than an NC25. Lancôme has a total of 9 shades while L’Oreal’s Cushion has 6 shades.

And that’s my quick review of the cushion foundations I currently have on rotation. A quick tip I have for using cushions: if you’re struggling to get the blending puff clean or you don’t like using it then I suggest investing in a Beauty blender of some kind. it can easily pick up the product but it’s much easier to clean. Also after using it, make sure you’ve closed the lid tight. Because it is a sponge soaked in a moist liquid, bacteria can easily grow from it. So make sure you’re keeping it closed tight and maybe spray it over with some kind of anti-bacterial alcohol to make sure it doesn’t get dirty/break you out. These cushions are really great if you’re after light, natural looking coverage. If you’re a full coverage kind of person, these might not be for you.

I hope you all found this helpful! There are so many cushion foundations in the Asian and western market, what are some of your favourites? Leave them in the comments below so I can stock-up on some more! Please feel free to like and share, I’ll see you all next week! xx

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

27 thoughts on “Current Cushion Foundation Frenzy Ft. L’Oreal, Innisfree & Lancôme

  1. The innisfree looks/sounds nice & the least ‘pink’ – probably my perfect shade. I have the L’oreal version & the laneige, which I like as well as a version by Physicians Formula which is not bad either.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hmm, not really. I do want a Korean one though. Ever since I tried Korean BB creams, I haven’t touched Western base makeup since. But to be honest, the holes in the cushion kinda freak me out haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha i know what you mean! If you noticed in the photo,the holes in the western ones are a bit bigger than the korean ones so there’s less sponge, more foundation…which means when you pat the puff into the sponge, you’re gonna get a lot more product. There’s so many korean cushions out there so i hope you’ll find one that works for you!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a loreal cushion and I love it! Getting a Lancome cushion has been on the top of my list for some time… I really need to hurry and buy one. And I have always wanted to try Innisfree’s cushion. I love those korean makeup products 😙 overall, I love this post~

    Liked by 2 people

  3. With the amount of Korean skincare that I have, it’s sad that I don’t have cushion. I really need to check them out more. I have however just ordered the Missha oil foundation. I like the light coverage. I’ll give a review once I get it. Love your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for having a read from my blog, I really appreciate it!
      I’ve tried the Missha M Perfect cover BB cream but it didn’t work out too well for me. But honestly I haven’t been disappointed with any of the cushions I’ve tries and would love to try more! Be sure to let me know when you get a review up! Would love to have a read! ^^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

