Top 5 Travel Tips for Make-Up & Skincare Ft. Real Techniques, Daiso & Charlotte Tilbury

Good evening everyoneee~~!! I’m on the plane to Los Angeles at the moment of writing this, it’s a long flight so I’m taking this time to write a couple of blog posts before I land. So any blog posts that you’ll read over the next few weeks would have probably been written on the plane. Anyway since I’m going to the states I figured I’d do a three part special in relation to my travels! I haven’t exactly figured out what I will write for the other two parts but here is the first instalment of my USA trilogy. I haven’t traveled that much during my lifetime but here is how I like to pack my skincare and make-up in my carry-ons and I’ll also feature some of my essentials that I like to take with me.

Black pouch contains solid and. powder products, blue pouch has liquid and cream products

Liquids and Solids: First things first, separate your make-up and skincare into liquids and solids. I know it might seem a little weird mixing your skincare with your make-up but this will make the whole security and customs process a lot easier as they specifically check for the liquids you bring. Also make sure you store everything in a clear bag. You can use a ziplock bag or any kind of bag as long as it doesn’t exceed 1 litre in volume. I got these super cute make-up pouches from Sportsgirl. Having a clear bag will not only make it easier to find your things but it’s also easy to clean if you end up spilling anything.

Bought empty spray bottles from Daiso to depot my facial mist and perfume

100ml: If you’re taking your make-up and skincare in your carry-on luggage, make sure that all your products are under 100ml. Which means if you have a cleanser or lotion that comes in a huge Costco bulk bottle, you’ll need to separate it into a smaller container so if you have little sample bottles and pots lying around make sure you keep them!! And this way you won’t over pack and take products that you won’t need.

Samples: Traveling is also the perfect time to bring the samples that you never got to try. I get a lot of my samples from the orders I make for Korean beauty products and from my Priceline perks. While these sachets aren’t worth trying to home, it’s always a good idea to bring them on your travels to not only minimise the amount of products you’re bringing but also to make some use out of those samples. You never know…just when you run out of your moisturiser you’ll have that lotion sample that’ll have your back.

Solid cleansers like The Body Shop’s Cleansing Butter is a great alternative to liquid products

Multipurpose Products: Nothing screams travel savvy like multipurpose products that will save you space and provide the efficiency that’ll save you when you’re on the go. So try bringing palettes and tools that are versatile and easy to use. For me I brought my Lorac Pro Palette for a convenient range of colours for any look I might go for. I also took my beloved Charlotte Tilbury Instant Look In A Palette palette for an eye and cheek, all-in-one set so I don’t have to bring separate powder products.

Real Techniques Multi-Task Brush, Real Techniques Deluxe Crease Brush and Chi Chi Cosmetics Sponge

Three tools: This last point bleeds into the multipurpose tip. I only brought three tools to apply my make-up: a sponge, a powder brush (can be used for blush/bronzer) and one eye brush. I can do any look with just these three tools. I could have skipped out on the powder brush but I thought I’d bring it just in case. I personally feel like sponges are super versatile especially when they’re the right shape. You want something that have a point tip but rounded or curved sides. Not only can you blend in your base make-up but you can definitely apply your cheek products as well as powder with just a sponge. As for my eye brush…well I keep my eye looks pretty simple so one brush is enough for me. I would say bring two eye brushes at the most, you can always wipe of the colour on the tissue before you go into another colour.

Also a good idea to have wipes on hand for quick and easy clean-ups

That’s all I have for today, those were my five tips on how and what to take on your carry-ons make-up and skincare wise. What did you think about my tips? Was this helpful? What are some of your travel tips? Leave your comments below and I’ll be sure to respond to them. I’ll see you all next week! xx

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Travel Tips for Make-Up & Skincare Ft. Real Techniques, Daiso & Charlotte Tilbury

Leave a Reply

