Cleaning Make-Up Tools 101 Ft. Daiso, Artiste & BeautyBlender

Good evening beauties~! Tonight’s post is all about how I like to clean my make-up brushes and sponges. This is a super simple, cheap and easy way of cleaning your brushes no matter how broke or lazy you might be!

DSC_1147

So here is a shot of the tools I use the most. I’ve got my Chi Chi make-up sponge for foundation/concealer, Real Techniques (RT) Multi-Task Brush for powder, RT Stippling Brush for Blusher, RT’s Deluxe Crease Brush for simple eye-shadow work and Essence’s Powder Brush for Bronzer/Highlight. I use these pretty much everyday to achieve a natural, everyday look. Sometimes I skip out on the Essence brush and just use my Multi-Task brush for a subtle application of bronzer or blusher. With everyday use on multiple products, you can imagine how dirty the brushes can get. And it’s important you wash them often because the build-up of bacteria in the brushes can cause acne on your skin.

So how do you clean your brushes? I have one word for you…DAISO! Being an undergrad student, I don’t have a massive income rolling in so Daiso has become my best-friend. And thanks to the Instabeautyau Facebook group I discovered the hidden, make-up cleaning gems within the wondrous Japanese dollar store. Now there’s really only two things you need. The silicon scrubbing board and the sponge cleaner.

DSC_1150

Silicon Scrubbing Board: This is a very handy little guy. It allows me to deep clean my brushes in a very easy and simple way. The ridges allow you to really work the bristles in there to ensure to deep clean. Before this I was only using my hands to get the grime out of my brushes, leaving my hands feeling incredibly prune-y but my brushes won’t be as clean as I would like them to be. But with this silicon scubby thing, it makes it a lot easier to clean my brushes, it won’t leave my hands feeling dry and it also makes it a lot easier to rinse out any soapy residue that may be left in the bristles. I also feel that it makes my make-up sponges feel extra sponge-y and plump.

Make-Up Brush Cleanser: So this isn’t really a necessity since I do prefer the Puff and Sponge cleaner over this. But This cleanser works really well with the silicon board. Using this with my hands was a pain because it was difficult to get a good lather going and I felt that I went through the product quite quickly. And you have to use quite a bit of it to get a really good deep clean. But let’s say the Puff and Sponge Cleaner is out of stock…this is a great alternative. You do need a scrubbing board of some kind to get the most out of it but really…there are better cleaners out there. It has a slight watermelon scent but it’s nothing too strong.

DSC_1161

 

Puff and Sponge Cleaner: This is the main star for today’s blog post. This a liquid soap that has a thicker soap texture than the Make-Up Brush Cleanser which is more like a soapy water. I feel like this cleaner is much more intensive since it is formulated for puffs and sponges. With this you’re using less product to clean your brushes and it’s much much MUCH easier to get a good lather with this. It has a soapy scent..nothing too strong or overwhelming. It rinses out easily and there’s no residue left behind. Also the chemicals aren’t anything too harsh that it would break out your skin or cause any kind of irritation. You’re definitely getting the bang out of the 2.80 bucks.

DSC_1151

Artiste Brush Cleaner: I don’t use this very often but the Artiste Brush Cleaner is great if you need to spot clean in between washes. This one contains Isopropyl Alcohol which kills any bacteria that may be in the brushes. But don’t rely on this for a deep clean. It’s great if you need to do a quick clean or you need to take out some of the colour from the brush to use a different colour. It’s also really good if you’re a make-up artist and you need to spot clean in between clients. This isn’t a must have product but it’s good to have just in case you might need it.

BeautyBlender Solid Cleanser: This is definitely the most expensive item in my post. This is not a must-have item either. But it is really good for travel. Of course, you could use a soap bar but the Beauty Blender Solid Cleanser is amazing for travel. It’s an easy way to clean your brushes and sponges, leaving absolutely spotless. I bought this last year and ran out of it a couple of months ago. It definitely cleans brushes and sponges really well, all the stains are gone with this bad boy. But it is an expensive product and I would only recommend this for travel purposes.

DSC_1165

My last tip is that when you’re drying off the brushes, lie down onto a clean towel with one end rolled up to get the brushes sitting on a angle. This will make sure that any water that’s sitting within the bristles will drain out as opposed to the water sitting within the glue and loosening the bristles. Some people try to find ways to hang the brushes upside-down to ensure that there’s no water retention but i think this technique will suffice.

And that’s all for today~! I hope you guys enjoyed this blog post! Let me know what you think about the products and my techniques. How do you wash your brushes? Have you used Daiso products before? Leave your comments below and I’ll see you all next week! xx

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

37 thoughts on “Cleaning Make-Up Tools 101 Ft. Daiso, Artiste & BeautyBlender

    1. People tend to use a brush for more coverage but I personally prefer beauty blenders since they can still give you coverage but it looks for natural. I struggle with using brushes…my foundation ends up looking streaky qnd cakey but it’s really down to personal preference. I hope that helps! ^^

      Like

  1. That’s a great post! I love the tip about the rolled up towel. I’m definitely going to use that in the future. 👌 Also it would be great if you followed me back so we could support each other on this road of blogging 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

