Back To School Starter Make-Up Kit Ft. Maybelline, The Face Shop & Too Faced

Hello hello, beautiful people~! I hope you guys have been having a good week. I went back to uni this week, starting the second semester of my third year. Seeing that I went back to uni and some of you are going to finish your summer holidays soon, I thought it would be incredibly fitting to do a post on a back to school, starters make-up kit. Hopefully this will help you if you’re new to make-up or you don’t know what make-up to use for school or you just need some product recommendations! Let’s get right into it…

For school, you may want to avoid too much foundation. Honestly you only need one: foundation or concealer. If you want to use both try to opt for a light weight foundation like cushion foundations or even BB cream. Less is more so try to limit yourself to a pea-sized amount of foundation for your whole face and use a sponge to blend and keep things looking au naturale.

Ever since high school I was always battling with oily skin and I still am today. Now if you have good skin, you can totally skip out on foundation/concealer! You can get straight into powder to mattify the skin and keep those oils at bay. If you want a teeny bit of coverage you could use a powder foundation as an alternative.

DSC_1097
L’Oreal infallible 24hr Matte Foundation in Vanilla, Neutrogena Skin Clearing Foundation in Beige, Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer in Brightener, Innisfree Long Wear Cushion in #23, Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer in Light, Essense All About Matt! Powder.

BROWS!!!! The very first time I groomed my eyebrows was in year 12 and I did that super straight Korean brow look which, to be candidly honest, looked absolutely sh*t on me but now I have a slightly arched brow which I’m very happy with. All you need for on-fleek brows is a good eyebrow pencil. When you have classes at 8.30 in the morning, you don’t have time for all that pomade and gels and all that nonsense. Get yourself a good eyebrow pencil. For years I have relied on The Face Shop’s Design My Eyebrow pencil and it’s the best thing ever. If you struggle with drawing and filling in your eyebrows, find a pencil that has a wedge shape, this makes it easier and quicker.

You can totally go without eyeshadow or eyeliner. For some subtle definition to the eyes, use a lengthening mascara that will give some natural oomph to the lashes, leaving you looking wide-eyed and fresh faced. And always go for waterproof! I know for some people, removing waterproof eye make-up can be difficult but I highly encourage you to get yourself an oil based remover. This will make taking off mascara a cinch to do. And don’t forget to curl the lashes!

DSC_1094

Finish things off with an MLBB (my lips but better). Use something that you can re-apply between classes without a mirror and something that looks natural so you don’t look too done up for classes. Lip tints, satin-finish lipsticks and some liquid lipsticks are great for this because they’re long lasting and easy to apply. Here are a couple of my favourites. Revlon’s Colourbust Balm Stain in Honey has been my go-to for years, I’ve got one to keep at home and one to keep in my bag. But at the moment I’ve been really loved the Too Faced melted Liquid Lipstick in Chihuahua, a perfect pinky nude for everyday.

DSC_1099

DSC_1100
(L-R): Revlon Colourbust Balm Satin in Honey, Too Faced Melted Liquid Lipstick in Chihuahua, Pony Effect That Girl Lipstick in Noble Brunch.

And that’s everything! Personally I don’t usually bring make-up with me to touch-up throughout the day, I usually just bring lipstick. But if you need to bring everything with you, be sure to find a super cute bag to keep everything together! I hope this post was helpful and hopefully gave you some ideas on what products you can use to achieve a natural face for everyday. Let me know what some of your favourite everyday products are and if you have any recommendations, leave them in the comments below~! I’ll see you all next week! xx

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

DSC_1090

21 thoughts on “Back To School Starter Make-Up Kit Ft. Maybelline, The Face Shop & Too Faced

  1. Hi Lê Wendy, this is a great post. I like your Innisfree Long Wear Cushion. I have mine too but instead of Long Wear it is the Magic Wear, also in shade nr 23. I just love the texture and the results but the only thing is that wow, 23 is a bit white for me, I think I need a darker shade, not too much , just a little. But the maximum dark shade they make is 23. Do you know of any other brand that has a darker shade other than 23? Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually if you go on Innisfree’s international website they have 1 more shade 31 Deep Beige! Otherwise I think Etude House has a better shade range. Hope this helps! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

