REVIEW: Colourpop Ultra Satin Lips in Magic Wand and Echo Park

Hello beauty junkies! I hope you have had a wonderful week! For today’s blog post I will be reviewing the Colourpop Ultra Satin Lips liquid lipsticks in the shades Magic Wand and Echo Park. Colourpop has had so much hype over this past year and so I finally bit the bullet and purchased my first Colourpop products this past month. So let’s get into the review:

DSC_1127

The Packaging: Colourpop’s liquid lipsticks come in a clear tube, like you would see for lipgloss, with a super cute metallic writing embossed in the tube. It comes with a doe-foot applicator. When you open it you’ll find that there’s a lot of product on the end of that doe-foot applicator. If you’re new to liquid lipstick like myself, then you may find this a little difficult to work with. While it looks similar to traditional lipgloss packaging, the tube itself doesn’t have as strong of suction that will reduce the amount of lipstick on the applicator. Think of the packaging of a mascara and how the product scrapes away into the tube so that wand itself doesn’t have too much product but just the perfect amount. I hope I’m explaining this clearly enough that you know what I’m talking about! Other than that, there’s nothing particularly special about the packaging, it’s simple, classy and cute for those flatlays!

DSC_1132
(L-R): Magic Wand, Echo Park

The Application and Texture: Because the lipstick is so opaque you have to be very careful with application. I didn’t get the lip liners for these so I had to work very carefully to make sure I don’t apply over my lip line and that it matches the shape of my lips. It can get very messy if you’re not careful so be sure to have some q-tips and concealer on stand-by to clean up any messy edges. If you’re not comfortable using the product straight from the applicator I suggest you apply a few dots in the centre of your lips and blend outwards using your finger. This won’t leave you with a gradient effect but it will leave a more muted version on the shade you’re using. Applying with your fingers is a little more forgiving as well as you have more control over how much pigmentation you want, and they’re very easy to blend. While this is meant to be a Satin Lip formula, I do feel that it dries down to a matte finish. It’s not totally transfer proof but it definitely does not leave any kind of sheen.

Untitled design (11)
(L-R): Magic Wand, Echo Park. They seem very similar but in person, Magic Wand is more of a nude colour while Echo Park has more of a pink tone to it.

The Wear: I’ve only used one other liquid lipstick before these ones and I was not a fan. I couldn’t get use to it and honestly, Colourpop’s Ultra Satin Lips were no different. I found it was very uncomfortable to wear during the day. It dries down fairly matte and it settled into the cracks and crevices of my lips. I was very surprised by this since it’s called “Satin Lips” and other users have said that this is much more comfortable than the Ultra Matte formula. It did last through eating and drinking but it would disappear a little bit in the centre of my lips. I would reapply but it would feel even more dry and cakey with more layers. It’s also not very convenient to apply with, since it’s something you can’t apply without a mirror. I’m not a fan of the formula or the wear but I do love the shades! Magic Wand a peachy, warm nude that is perfect for everyday! Echo Park is my favourite out of the two, it’s a rosy pink that just gives your face the right amount of flush and colour! The strange thing is I find that the shades look significantly different on everyone. I’ve looked at swatches and YouTube videos and I feel like the shades look so different so it’s hard to tell how the colours will look in person.

DSC_1153
Wearing Echo Park

Overall, I understand why people love this product. It’s opaque, long wearing and for the price you have nothing to lose! But for me I’m not a fan of the liquid lipstick/bold big lips kind of trend so this product isn’t for me. I might use it every now and then but it’s not for everyday, it’s too much maintenece in my opinion. What do you guys think about Colourpop’s Ultra Satin Lips? Have you tried them before? Are you a fan of liquid lipsticks? Do you have any tips on how to use them? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below! I hope you all enjoyed my review, I’ll definitely do more of these reviews in the future, I don’t do them enough! Anyway I’ll see you all next week! xx

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

54 thoughts on “REVIEW: Colourpop Ultra Satin Lips in Magic Wand and Echo Park

  1. I think this would be a perfect nude colour for my skin tone! I have some tips on re-applying liquid lipstick for touch up during the day, always take a lipbalm/ vaseline with you to wipe them off before re-apply 🙂 never layer them because God they’re drying like hell! Good post xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely post! I’ve heard crazy hype around this brand as well but I haven’t purchased anything yet! I hear you – I don’t like the feeling of matte liquid lipsticks on me either, I feel like the formulas make my lips look chapped. I’ve noticed you’re quite active on our blog, feel free to follow us if you want 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Really? I have three other shades coming in for me, and it would be the first time I’ll be using Colourpop lippies. I heard the formula is good from another blogger. I do have concerns regarding what sort of remover one should use for these. Any suggestions? xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. If you like a heavy matte finish then these are great! Its my personal preference that they didn’t work well for me. I suggest using a cleansing oil or cleansing balm to remove these. The colour can be quite intense. You can still use wipes or Micellar water but I think something oil based will work a lot better ^^

        Like

  3. Colourpop has a terrible long wear formula. 9/10 times your lips will be crusty and dry within 2 hours which is gross! If you’re looking for a creamier long wear I would really suggest either Anastasia Beverly Hills or Huda Beauty. They formula is amazing. As well as the Kat Von D line. Also – I always moisturizer my lips prior to applying long wear lipstick. Some sort of oil based primer works like magic!

    Like

    1. Yes, I definitely know what you mean! Which is why I hardly ever wear these, they’re so drying. I can’t imagine how bad the Ultra Matte Lips are! But since you mention it, I’ll have a look into ABH AND Huda Beauty, thanks for the tips too!! ❤

      Like

  4. My favorite liquid lipsticks are the ones that come with the clear gloss that can be reapplied as needed to avoid that dry, cakey look and feel! MAC has some nice ones; my favorite are Make Up Forever. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree that I was surprised how matte Echo Park was considering it’s an ‘Ultra satin lip’. I don’t love Echo Park. The colour just looks nothing like the online swatches. On me it’s just not a colour that I love. It looks totally different on you and looks lovely though. I do however have one of their lippie sticks and one of the mini lip kits and I love those.

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

