GRWM: 90’s Inspired Natural Mattes Ft. It Cosmetics, Etude House & Revlon

Hello Hello beautiful people~! I hope you have all had a wonderful week so far! If not, then hopefully it’ll get better before the weekend is over~! Anyway, this week I have a little Get Ready With Me look that I did for a friend’s birthday. The theme was a 90’s, masquerade chic. Unfortunately I didn’t have time to get a mask but I thought it would be fun to attempt a 90’s make-up look. Let me say that I am by no means a make-up artist and so I have a lot of practice to do. Anyway here is my amateur attempt at a 90’s inspired look. I based my look off of the beautiful ladies from F.R.I.E.N.D.S and their make-up looks from seasons 1 and 2. From what I gathered, the 90’s look is all about that matte complexion, matte eyes, matte lips and a brown toned kind of hue.

dsc_0161

dsc_0163
Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation in Desert Beige, Skinfood Salmon Dark Circle Concealer in No. 2, Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer in Brightener, It Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness in Transforming Neutral Beige.

Creating a matte complexion isn’t difficult. Just be sure to use a matte finish foundation with a really good setting powder, you can skip out on the facial mist for this look. Start things off with a good skincare base. I used my Etude House Aloe Vera Soothing Lotion and mixed it in with my Nivea Mens Post Shave Balm and these two create a very soft and moisturising primer that will keep my face on all night. I used my trusty Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation with some concealer and Essence powder to set all my hard work. Make sure to use a high coverage concealer as well to achieve that flawless, baby matte skin.

dsc_0166

I know the brows in the 90’s were quite thin but I decided to fill in my brows the same way as I usually would. For the eyes I used the matte shadows from my beloved Lorac Pro palette. For a base I started with Cream to even out the colour of my eyelids. Next I went in with the shade Taupe to deepen the eyes and develop that trademark brown-toned hue. I wanted a little more intensity so I went in with the shade Sable to darken and add some extra depth to the eyes. To finish things up I applied my mascara to the top and bottom lashes! Yes! I skipped winged eyeliner and applied mascara TO THE BOTTOM LASHES! I also decided to apply some liquid eyeliner long my top lash line but did not wing it out as I normally would. That’s like a whole new territory to me so it was rather refreshing to create a different eye look.

dsc_0169
The Body Shop Honey Bronzer in No. 1, Etude House Cookie Blusher in Peach Parfait, Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Rosewine.

For the cheeks, I also went for a matte bronzer and matte blusher. Which means I skipped out on the highlighters and any products with shimmer in them. This way I’m still getting the dimension and definition I need while still maintaining that 90’s matte look. To finish things off, I applied a matte red/orange-y shade that had some subtle brown undertones which I felt would be a perfect 90’s lip colour.

untitled-design-17
Quick before (left) and after (right) shot. It’s always fun to see the difference make-up can do.
untitled-design-16
Here is a close-up on the eyes. As you can see it kept things very minimal. The colour also doesn’t show up too well on camera as it does in person. And as you can see my left eye is a bit hooded but it’s not too noticeable after a bit of eye make-up.

And yes! I did get my hair cut and coloured recently (full blog post on the new hair next week!) and I figured I’d get it curled for “The Rachel”-eqsue hairdo. For the outfit I decided to go for a simple black jumpsuit because 1. you can’t go wrong with a black get up and 2. I wanted avoid shaving. It’s great if you don’t have a nice dress or you can’t afford to get a nice dress because it still looks pretty chic without breaking the budget.

dsc_0178

And that’s pretty much it! This is just my take on how I would create a 90’s look on myself. I could have used a darker lip colour but I quite liked how it turned out, it’s a nice change from the glowly and strong contoured looks that we see a lot of lately. I hope you guys enjoyed this post and let me know if you have any tips on how I could improve this 90’s look, I’m always after tips and tricks on how to improve my make-up skills so please comment below if you have any advice! I’ll see you all next week! xx

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

25 thoughts on “GRWM: 90’s Inspired Natural Mattes Ft. It Cosmetics, Etude House & Revlon

Leave a Reply

