EMPTIES #5 Ft. Mario Badescu, The Face Shop & Swisse

Good morning/afternoon/evening beautiful people~! It’s been quite a while since my last empties post so once again, I have gathered up all my empty products to share my thoughts on them with you. Let’s go!

dsc_0702

La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo +: So this product is sort of like a moisturiser for oily, acne prone skin that’s suppose to correct the appearance of imperfections, unclogs the pores and helps with the minimisation of imperfections. I’ve also read some great reviews on this, a lot of people swear by this product to help with the acne. But this did not work out for me. I went through two bottles of this stuff so I know for a fact it did not help me at all. I was getting some acne on my forehead, chin and a few spots on my cheeks but this didn’t do anything. At first I thought it was helping with my acne but as I continued to use it, I didn’t notice any improvements. Which is such a shame because so many users claim that this is phenomenal for acne. I did moisturise my skin and left it feeling soft but sadly it didn’t reduce the appearance of my acne scarring or other imperfections on my face. Sad to say this product didn’t live up to the hype for me, and wasn’t worth the money.

Mario Badescu Facial Spray with Aloe, Herbs and Rosewater: This is definitely one of my favourite skincare finds in a long time. I use to use the Avene Spring Water facial spray but this wins over with no contest. I use this at night at the end of my skincare routine and it just calms everything down and adds that extra oomph of hydration that’s going to leave your skin feeling super supple. I have also used this after my make-up and I do feel like it does help with the longevity of my make-up too! Like most facial mists, I feel like it’s a very nice treat for the skin but it’s not an essential. But this stuff is so nice, I’m already on my second bottle and it’s great to bring with you when you travel too!

Formula 10.0.6 One Smooth Operator Cleansing Scrub: I was going through a bit of a break-out crisis and was looking for a good facial scrub that would hopefully help with my acne. Before this one I was using the St. Ives Green Tea Scrub for the longest time which is a nice scrub but I wanted to try something new. Formula 10.0.6 has some great skincare products but I haven’t tried any of their scrubs. This one was a bit of a disappointment. It felt rather harsh on the skin and I didn’t feel like it helped with my acne either. But it does it’s main job of exfoliating and clearing out pores but it’s nothing magical or life-changing.

Swisse Micellar Make-up Remover: I got this in one of those goodie bags that you get when you spend a certain amount at Priceline. In the past I’ve used  the Garnier Micellar water which is great when I need to fix up some make-up mistakes or if I just wanna take off the bulk of my make-up without actually having to cleanse my face. Now that I’ve run out of that, I have been using the Swisse Micellar water and honestly I don’t think it’s anything unique from the Garnier one. It’s a nice make-up remover, great for fixing little mistakes and it doesn’t irritate my skin. It’s a fairly average product, there’s nothing bad about it but it hasn’t completely changed my life either. If for whatever reason you can’t get your hands on the Ganier one, then this is a great alternative!

dsc_0705

Essence All About Matt! Powder: I mention this product almost all the time but it really is a great product. I use to use the MAC Blot Powder which is a great product but I think this is better. For about $6 this stuff just keeps my make-up all day and keeps me matte for the most part. It does have a bit of fall out when you swirl your brush in the compact but it doesn’t bother me. I’ts a great translucent powder that I can’t go without. Definitely an everyday essential and super friendly to my student budget. I do go through these fairly quickly, in the last couple of months I’ve gone through three, and on my fourth right now. Get your hands on it if you can, this is holy grail status for me.

Maybelline Better Skin Concealer: Lately I’ve been using the Maybelline Better Skin Concealer in place of the Fit Me concealer which I haven’t bought in a while because I’m still using up my It Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness Corrector. This is an okay concealer! It has a very light texture and consistency, easy to blend but I feel as though the coverage isn’t as strong as the Fit Me concealer. Also not a fan of the applicator. It’s a squeeze tube that has like a lip-gloss-looking applicator making it a little awkward to work with. I think I’m gonna go back to the Fit Me concealer since I just don’t think this does the job of concealing quite as well. Also the shade range for these in Australia is rather poor, it only come sin two shades so you’re gonna have a hard time if you’re very fair or very deep.

The Face Shop Designing Eyebrow Pencil: This has been my eyebrow go to for so long and just recently I finished my up beloved eyebrow pencil. This lasted me quite a while, I think it’s been close to a year since I bought this. But now I’ve finished it and I’ve been using the Chi Chi Brow Pomade instead. I still really like the pencil, I think it’s a great beginners product and if you’re in a pinch for time then this is great to quickly fill in your brows effortlessly. It’s really easy to blend and it has a drier formula making it a lot easier for you to gradually build up so you don’t end up with sharpie brows. If you have oilier skin then you might find that the product will fade a little by the end of the day but it’s not very noticeable. And for $7, you can’t go wrong!

And that’s it! I hope you guys enjoyed this Empties post, I didn’t come across a lot of products that I absolutely love so if you have any skincare or make-up recommendations for me please leave them in the comments below! I’ll see you all next week! xx

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

dsc_0715

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “EMPTIES #5 Ft. Mario Badescu, The Face Shop & Swisse

  1. I’ll definitely be trying the powder and the eyebrow pencil!😋✨ I would recommend Vichy’s translucent powder as it keeps you matte all day, doesn’t clog your pores and the actual product lasts for a long time as a little goes a long way xx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hey, I just read your article and I had to comment on Effaclar Duo. Saddly that product didn’t work for me either. Have you tried Avene Cleanance Expert? It has helped me with blackheads but I think this type of cream doesn’t work great with more serious acne. Also, I think you should know that acne on the forehead, chin and around the mouth may indicate some hormonal problem. The sooner you check it with your doctor, the better.

    Other than that, great blog!
    Kisses!

    Like

    1. Actually I just picked up the Avene one! Will include it in my next empties post! I think it works a lot better than La Roshe-Posay. And I use to go to a dermatologist to get my acne cleared up which worked very well but it got quite expensive so I had to stop for a bit. But I may have to visit the dermatologist again soon. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you, Daniela! Maybe it’s just me but from other Micellar Water’s I’ve tried they’re not that different from each other. I might try the Bioderma one, I heard that one is really good. Thanks for reading and commenting as always~! xx 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

