Beauty Products Not Worth the Hype

Hello hello, beautiful people~! I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and New Year!! In light of the new year I decided to dig through my make-up and skincare collection and go through any products that I no longer use or no longer like. Being a beauty enthusiast I’m always buying and trying different products to see what works for me and more often than not I regret buying a certain product because even though there might be raving reviews about it, it didn’t work for me. So for this week’s post I’m gonna give you a run down on some products that, to me, are not worth the hype. Let’s go~!

dsc_1760

Thursday Plantation Tea Tree Oil: I’ve been battling with acne since high school and I’m always on the search for products that’ll help with my acne issues. I hear a lot about how good tea tree oil can be for the acne. It’s an antiseptic that’s suppose to kill germs and help with minor cuts and abrasions. Many people swear by tea tree oil as a natural remedy for acne but unfortunately it hasn’t worked for me. I’ve applied to directly on to my acne, it left me with a stinging sensation but I never noticed any reduction in the swelling or redness of my acne. Thinking about it now, I never really diluted the oil and just applied it directly so I might give it another go in the future but as for now I don’t think this product is for me.

Face of Australia Translucent Loose Powder: I use to use this as a “priming powder” underneath my foundation to increase its longevity and later I use it to bake to help with oil control. It’s not a bad product but it’s not as great as I had hoped. I personally feel that it does feel rather heavy on the skin and it’s not as light weight as I would like. Lately I’ve been using the Essence Stay All Day Translucent Fixing Powder which I think works way better. It’s much more finely milled compared to FOA and doesn’t feel as cakey. Again the FOA powder isn’t a bad product but I didn’t like the way it sat on the skin. I would definitely recommend you look into the Essence powder if you’re after a loose fixing powder.

Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer: I got this randomly during my trip to the states, I was thinking of getting the full sized tube but to be safe I got the sample size. And honestly I wished I had gotten the full sized instead because the sample size is really tiny and for the price you have to pay, you’re probably better off buying the full sized version. But even if I did get the full version, the product still wouldn’t have impressed me. I’ve been a long time user of the Maybelline Fit Me concealer and I can say with full confidence that I much prefer Maybelline over the Urban Decay. Sure the packaging is nice and the product itself isn’t bad. But if you liked the Fit Me concealer then you’ll be disappointed with this. I don’t think it’s worth the expensive price tag knowing that there is a better drug store alternative.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz: I really really wanted to like this considering I had read so many rave reviews about it but unfortunately I was disappointed. Having been so use to using the “wedge” shaped eyebrow pencils, I found it difficult to work with such a fine tip like that of ABH. While it did the basic job of filling in my brows it wasn’t as long lasting as it did fade at the end of a very long day. All in all I wouldn’t repurchase this again. The spoolie broke off only after 2 weeks of use so I had to dock points for that.

dsc_1763

Maybelline Gel Liners: So I got these a long, long time ago and I only used them a small handful of times. I think they’re an okay product but honestly I don’t think I’m a huge fan of gel liners. I personally feel that they’re not great in terms of longevity and pigmentation. I guess it was good to kind of learn how to do a winged liner with a brush but at the end of the day I never really used this product after a few goes. I found that it was not waterproof or smudge-proof despite it’s claims.

NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil: I think it was this product that made me realise that cream eye products are not for me. My favourite youtuber, Jenn Im, use to use this in her make-up tutorials and it made me wanna go out and purchase a jumbo eye pencil for myself. But unfortunately due to it’s very creamy texture, it creased badly in my lines under my eyes and creased on my eyelid as well. It might be nice for the inner corners but it’s a product I can live without, I much prefer powder products anyway.

Lancome Cils Booster: This is probably the product I am disappointed with the most. So this is meant to be an eyelash primer that’s suppose to give you that extra bit of oomph for when you put your regular mascara on top. It did help thicken my lashes and lengthen them a little bit. But it did not hold my curl, it weighed down my lashes that even with my regular mascara couldn’t help keep them up. So sadly this was not made with straight lashes in mind. But the thing I learnt this past year was to just use a lengthening mascara to prime your lashes to give them that initial length. Then go in with a volumising mascara afterwards for that false lash effect.

Benefit Benetint: This was another product I really wanted to love since I love the idea of lip tints. I love that they’re suppose to give you a flushed, natural tinge to the lips which you could double as a blush. But this product just didn’t do it for me. I wasn’t very pigmented, it didn’t last very long on the lips, it didn’t show up on the cheeks and it just wasn’t what it was all hyped up to be.

Colourpop Ultra Satin Lips: Not gonna lie, this is probably one of the most uncomfortable lip formulas I’ve ever tried. Liquid lipsticks were never my thing but because this was called “satin lip” I figured it would be much more comfortable than the ultra matte formula. But sadly the Ultra Satin Lips didn’t dry down to a satin finish but a strong matte finish that made it very inconvenient to reapply with, especially since it’s so drying. It’s a real shame that I couldn’t get these to work for me. I think I’ll just stick to the lippie stix for now.

dsc_1769

Maybelline Colour Sensational Lipstick and Candy Wow Lipstick: I wasn’t a huge fan of the Colour Sensational Lipstick that I got. I found that it wasn’t very pigmented or lasted long. It also wasn’t a very hydrating formula either. On the other hand I do like the formula of the Candy Wow Baby Lips product, I just didn’t like the shade I got. It showed up as a very bright pink which I found to be rather unflattering for my skin so I won’t be repurchasing these products.

And that’s pretty much it! Thank you for taking the time to read this weeks rather extensive post. Let me know what products you regret buying or any products that you think are over hyped. Also comment below if you also found that the products I mentioned didn’t work for you either, we can complain together. Anyway I hope you guys enjoyed this weeks post and I’ll see you all next week! xx

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

 

40 thoughts on “Beauty Products Not Worth the Hype

    1. Again I don’t think it’s a bad concealer, just not worth the money IMO. The Fit Me concealer just worked so much better on me and since it’s from the drugstore it’s accessible and affordable. But I’m glad it’s a product that you love and works for you! ❤

      Like

    1. It’s not that I don’t like the formula, I think it’s just okay. It’s more because it’s so similar to the Maybelline Fit Me concealer, that I was disappointed it didn’t perform better considering I’m paying a heftier price tag 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I seriously love posts like this! It gives perspective on products that seem too good to be true. Ive had similar experiences with a lot of these products. I’ve never had any luck with benefit products and the nyx jumbo pencils are way too thick. I’ve tried using them as eyeshadow primers and I don’t think they make a difference. Just a regular eyeshadow primer like the Urban Decay one works fine!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I might do more of these posts in the future! And yes I agree that NYX can feel quite thick so it’s very difficult to work with.
      What other Benefit products have you tried that didn’t work out for you?

      Like

  2. I love seeing bloggers feature products they’re not happy with as I feel many fall into the trap of “loving” everything. This post felt really genuine and I loved reading! Also gave me a few tips of what to avoid. I do agree with you that the Benefit “Benetint” isn’t great at all.
    -Elen x
    blackcoffeebreakfast.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great post! Some of the products I was familiar with, but others not so much and now I know! I too have battled acne for quite some time & tried tea tree oil with no success, but one thing that has worked amazing is RAW apple cider vinegar (diluted w/ water) as a toner is amazing! It’s become such a staple in my skincare routine!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean! It’s always important to remember that not everything will work for everyone so yeah sometimes there are products that people swear by…but it doesn’t work well for me. Thank you so much for reading!! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

