REVIEW: Mario Badescu

Happy Thursday, everyone~! I hope you have all been well!! It’s been a bit of a challenge trying to come up with content, I won’t lie but somehow I end up coming up with something at the last minute! A few weeks ago I received some awesome Mario Badescu goodies for my birthday and I’ve also tried a few products from the brand so I thought why not do a brand review of the products I’ve tried. Some of these I’ve used for a while, others is more of a first impressions but I’ll be as detailed and in-depth as much as I can!

dsc_2111

Mario Badescu Acne Facial Cleanser: I’ve tried a few acne cleansers in the past and I never really liked how harsh they were on the skin. I felt that they tend to dry out my skin and even stung my skin a bit. So these days I stick to really gentle cleansers like oil cleansers or cleansers made for drier, sensitive skin. I’ve tried the MB Acne Facial Cleanser a few times now and I can definitely say that it’s very gentle on the skin! No stinging sensation or drying out my skin like crazy. It’s a gel consistency making it really easy to lather. But then again I can’t point out anything particularly special about it…it cleans my face…it does the job, what more can I say?

Mario Badescu Special Cucumber Lotion: This is the toner that came in the little kit I received and I really quite like it. It feels really cooling and soothing on the skin so it’s perfect for us acne-prone beauties! It’s also really gentle on the skin, doesn’t feel like an “astringent” if you know what I mean. Even though it claims to be “an aggressive astringent that will cleanse the skin of surface greasiness” it doesn’t feel super harsh on the skin or anything. So I like it for sure! Just gotta test it out a few more times before I can really make up my mind on it.

Mario Badescu Facial Spray with Aloe, Herbs & Rosewater: I have re-purchased this facial mist countless times! It’s a very gentle facial mist that I tend to use at night but you can definitely use it during the day too! I spritz after I finish my skincare/makeup routine and it leave my skin feeling soft and hydrated without any residue or heavy feeling. For such a low price, I love this as a little treat to my skin, which helps to calm down any irritation or redness in my skin.

dsc_2113

Mario Badescu Oil-Free Moisturiser SPF 17: Probably my least favourite product out of the bunch if I am completely honest.  First I used it I squeezed out too much but I figured “oh well, just use it down my neck and arms, no big deal”. But I found that this moisturiser actually stung my face a bit. While it’s quit thick and initially feels very hydrating, it irritated my skin. I’m not sure how to describe it but it had this strong tingle all over my face after applying and even though it calmed down after a few minutes, this isn’t something I want to experience from a moisturiser.

Mario Badescu Drying Mask: I really really like this! I’ve only used it twice but I’m impressed. It’s a thick texture, almost like a pudding so I would recommend using a q-tip, mask brush or some sort of spatula to pick up the product and apply (might be a bit messy with hands). It does have a weird scent though…like an industrial, concrete kind of smell LOL. I apply a thick-ish layer on problem areas and leave it on for about 20-30 minutes. It dries down completely where it actually does feel like cement on the skin. I wash it off with lukewarm water and I’m left with really smooth skin and I do feel like it actually helped to calm down my acne. My acne is pretty bad, I get both that cycstic, white-head kind of acne and also those pesky, under-the-skin acne as well. But I found that this was really helpful so definitely recommend!

Mario Badescu Drying Cream: This is the more gentle, less abrasive version of the Drying Mask. I think this would work really well following up with the mask. It’s a very thick texture so again, use a q-tip with this!  It’s a very intensive sort of spot treatment that I like to leave on over night. I haven’t really seen much of a difference when using this so I still need to test it out more but its a very interesting product that is definitely worth checking out.

dsc_2118

Mario Badescu Drying Lotion: Another product I’ve re-purchased a multitude of times. This is my go-to product for breakouts. Not gonna lie, it doesn’t always work, especially for those under-the-skin pimples but for the ones that do come up the surface, this stuff is amazing for it. You take a q-tip and dip into the pink solution on the bottom and just sort of dot it all over your face and by the morning the pimple would have reduced in size, redness and irritation. While it doesn’t work 100% of the time I still consider it to be a must-have product that I always need to have on hand.

And that’s about everything! I think Mario Badescu has a lot of great products in the range, some I might not purchase again but others have become skincare favourites. Let me know what products you’ve tried from the brand and what has/hasn’t worked for you. I’ll see you all next week! xx

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

 

15 thoughts on “REVIEW: Mario Badescu

  1. Thank you for sharing this, Wendy! I think i’m gonna try it and buy few of the series that u’ve recommended. I dont think it is necessary to buy the whole series coz it’s quite expensive and some of the products might not really do the “magic” . I certainly need the mask, cream, and drying lotion and the mist!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!! I know what you mean, the nozzel plays a huge part in the quality and use of the product. Natural Republic have an aloe vera mist and that one I think has a much more even distribution ^^

      Like

  2. Hi Lê Wendy 🙂 I noticed you liked my post “did someone say “party”?” about an online make up/beauty party… would you like to log in to one? I tried to send you a private message but can’t do it (what can I say, I’m new to wordpress!)…if you’d like to come to a free party, please do let me know either by replying to this comment or you can also send a message to my website on the contact form lemonlashes.com/contact 🙂 we’ll look at new make up lines and you can win a prize and of course, blog all about it. You can just watch or participate,as you like ❤

    Like

  3. I got the drying lotion, silver powder and face mist and given how overhyped it is, it sort of made me expect a lot. It was alright, I guess, but I was let down a little still. The drying lotion really isn’t very compatible for Asian skin- I did some research and apparently the best way to eliminate acne is to “trick” your skin into thinking there is enough oil production by applying face oils and moisturisers. It’s different for Caucasian skin though so I guess that’s why it works for Kylie Jenner and other celebs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the drying lotion as a post treatment to help relieve the pain and swelling. But you’re correct, I’ve also read that you have to trick your skin but different things work for different people. I personally found that my skin got worse when I applied more oils to my face but that’s just me.

      Thanks for reading and for your insight!! ^^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

