Favourite Liquid Lipsticks Ft. Maybelline, NYX & Too Faced

Good evening beautiful people~! This week’s post is not something I think I would have done maybe 4 months ago. I never really got along with liquid lipstick formulas (let’s see how many times I say “liquid lipsticks” in this post LOL). They have been all the rage the past year but for whatever reason I just couldn’t get a grip on how to use them, how to apply and how to make them look good. To be honest I have’t tried that many liquid lipsticks to begin with but with the few I tried I hated them. I found them to be very drying on the lips, uncomfortable and difficult to reapply with. HOWEVER!!!! With a little bit of hope still left inside me I decided to keep trying different liquid lippies and I am pleased to say that I found a few which have become my favourite lippies!!! So if you’re someone who is a beginner to liquid lippies or struggled like me but still wanna give these a go then keep on reading!

Do you guys like this kind of side-angle swatch on the lips?! Finally found the ebst way to take pics of lip swatches so kind of proud of this LOL

Maybelline Vivid Matte Liquid Lipstick in Nude Thrill: This is definitely one of the more hydrating liquid lipsticks. It has a mousse-like texture that glides really well over the lips. The colour pay-off is pretty good, can’t complain, it’s quite opaque and this particular shade is lovely for everyday wear. I also really really like the wand, it’s sorta thin and tapered so it makes it real easy to outline your lips and fill them in without a lip liner. But there are two things to note: 1. It’s not the matte-est lip formula you’ll come across. So if you’re after a full-on, severe matte lip then this isn’t for you. But if you’re trying to get out of your comfort zone a little then this one is great to start with! 2. I found that this can apply a bit streaky so try your best to apply evenly and blotting away the streaks with your finger.

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Stockholm: Not going to lie, this is very VERY similar to Maybelline’s Vivid Matte. They both have that light-weight mousse texture that leaves a very soft feeling on the lips. I would say NYX is more long-wearing and slightly more pigmented compared to Maybelline. It also has a much more matte-r finish but still feels comfortable on the lips. I have the NYX’s Soft Matte Lip Cream in Stockholm which I think is a slightly pinkier/peachier shade than Maybelline. You’ll notice that I have all of these lipsticks in very similar shades BUT I SWEAR THEY’RE ALL DIFFERENT OKAY?! Sorry, I just have a big thing for nude lippies so don’t judge! But yes NYX has a much wider shade range so if you really like the Maybelline but they don’t have the shade you want then have a look into NYX.

Too Faced Melted Liquid Lipstick in Chihuahua: I got this in one of my MECCA Beauty Loop Boxes and I’m so glad I got this because it’s lasted me for so long! This is the Too Faced Melted Liquid Lipstick and while it doesn’t have a matte finish it’s still a great high-end liquid lip option! I really really like the doe-foot applicator on this, it makes it real easy to apply with (even without a mirror). What I also really like is the squeeze tube packaging because it means you’ll be able to get every last drop of it and getting your money’s worth! For this one, you’ll definitely need to re-apply after eating and drinking but with this particular nude shade it’s not hard to reapply throughout the day. Once I’ve finished up this sample size I am definitely going to run out and by the full sized! Although!! I recently tried the Maybelline Colour Jolt in Stripped Down which makes a really good dupe for this Too Faced one so if you can’t get your hands on Too Faced then look into Maybelline! You’re welcome.

(L-R): Exotic, Ruffle Trim

NYX Lip Lingerie in Exotic and Ruffle Trim: I mentioned these in my last post for my summer edit and my opinion still stands! These are definitely one of the best liquid lipstick formulas I’ve ever worn! These are definitely the matte-est liquid lipstick I’ve tried that didn’t feel drying/uncomfortable! I won’t lie, it does take a little bit of getting use to in terms of application and wear but after a few practice runs you’ll get use to it! I have this in two shades and I honestly love them both, I would not be able to pick between the two. Exotic is more of a deeper, nude/red shade while Ruffle Trim is more of a brown-toned nude that’s really nice for the day time. In terms of wear, it does feel a bit tacky. Like if you try to rub your lips together it’s going to feel sticky so don’t rub your lips together! But I personally kind of like the sticky texture since it keeps my lips hydrated! After eating and drinking it does fade in the centre of the lips so you might have to reapply but I don’t mind the maintenance.

And that’s pretty much it!! I’ll admit, these might not be the most matte, most long wearing and most severe liquid lipsticks but I think these make a good “gateway” product into trying this sort of formula. Let me know what you think about liquid lipsticks, do you love them? Hate them? Let me know!! And because I loveeeee lipsticks and have no self control, let me know if you have any recommendations and I’ll try to go out and buy it! Anyway I hope you found this post helpful and I’ll see you all next week~! xx

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

 

27 thoughts on “Favourite Liquid Lipsticks Ft. Maybelline, NYX & Too Faced

  1. Love this post! Beautiful shades.. I found the NYX Lip Lingerie quite drying, but I’m keen to try their lip cream. Recently discovered Sephora’s cream lip stains, which I’ve actually found dry matte but feel very comfortable and wear all day. They’re also extremely pigmented!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I’m in love with Marvelous Mauve (13) – this is the one I have.. Pink Latte (22), Coral Sunset (25) and Infinite Rose (05) look gorgeous too, it’s so hard to choose! I’d go for all the nudes.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, thanks for your support on my review. I was just visiting your site and your stunning pictures and graphics caught my eyes. You have pretty lips btw 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I have the purple Maybelline one. I feel you, it took me a minute to get the hang of applying it (and I still tend to accidentally eat it off my inner lip, so I give up or fill my lip with liner first). I think I may try some of the nudes though. Have always gone for striking colors, so maybe those will blend out better. Thanks for sharing that.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

