Autumn Make-up & Skincare Haul Ft. Dr. Dennis Gross, Bio-Oil & The Balm

Hi Beauty Friends~! You guys looking forward to the long Easter weekend?! I know I am, I get to take a couple days off work and relax and spend some time with friends~! This week’s post is on my latest make-up and skincare haul! I spent quite a bit over this last month on some new products! With the seasons changing, my skin is getting drier and drier so I needed some new things to keep that in check. Also needed to stock-up on a few things too…so anyway here is my haul!!

 

Muji Oil Cleanser: This my second bottle of this and I can honestly say that this is by far my favourite oil cleanser I’ve tried. I have tried a small handful but I love this one the most because it’s non-irritating to my skin, it doesn’t have an overwhelming scent and I think it’s the best value more money too. Previously I had the 200ml bottle but now I’ve gone for the 400ml because I know it works really well for me. It takes off my make-up really well and once I wash it off my skin doesn’t feel stripped of it’s moisture. And I like how simple the packaging it. It doesn’t have any crazy claims or gimmicks, it’s just a simple oil cleanser. If you haven’t tried oil cleansing yet but I strongly suggest that you do because it is probably the best way to remove your make-up! Just make sure to follow up with a regular cleanser for a thorough and all-around cleanse.

Dr. Dennis Gross Hyaluronic Moisture Cushion: This one was actually given to my beauty waifu, Ellen! I’ve never tried anything from Dr. Dennis Gross and honestly, I haven’t heard too much about them so I don’t really have any expectations on this. This is an oil-free moisturiser that has time-release technology which is designed to keep your skin dewy and hydrated all day. My skin has gotten significantly dry due to my acne medication but with the winter coming up I can’t risk my skin drying up and flaking. I can’t wait to use this and see how I works on my skin!

Sephora Collection Intensive Instant Moisture+ Cream (Hyaluronic Acid Booster): So when I was visiting Sephora a few weeks ago they had staff members walk around and give samples of this moisturiser from the Sephora Collection. They gave me so many, I emptied them into a clean jar and got a good 30mls of product. I’ve only used this a few times and I’m still not sure how I feel about it. It’s a white cream that’s very hydrating but I didn’t really seem anything different from a regular moisturiser. I still need to use it a few more times to really see if it has any effects. Will keep you updated!

Bio-Oil: The very lovely Amelia from ITPR sent me a very generous package of Bio-Oil goodies so now I’ve got me some Bio-Oil for days! I know my mum absolutely loves this stuff for scars and hydration so I can’t wait to see how this is going to work on my acne scarring.

Cricket Pretty Little Painters Makeup Sponges: I found this at Priceline and the packaging immediately caught my attention. It’s in this super super cute little paint pot container and it has three different shaped sponges. I’ve really enjoyed my Chi Chi sponges so I’m really curious to see how these go!

NYX Shine Killer: To be honest, I was after the Pore Filler but it was sold out and I got this on a impulse buy. This a primer meant for oily skin types and made to withstand and maintain oil control throughout the wear of your make-up. I haven’t used it very much but I don’t really like the texture. I feels rather slippery and even kind of oily. But it does make it really easy to blend and glide your foundation over the time. I’ll have to give this one a few more goes but so far I’m not really a fan.

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer: So this was recommended to me by Ellen again LOL. She was wearing this in a photo and it looked amazing so I asked her what highlighter she was using and I decided to get it! I actually knew about this highlighter for ages but I never got around to getting it. And I can say I definitely love it. It’s really really pigmented, it’s got a great shimmer that isn’t too crazy and it blends really well on the skin. At the moment I’m sort of using a thinner, tapered powder brush which is doing the job but it’s giving me a more sheer finish so I might have to go out a get a proper highlighting brush. But anyway it’s a really awesome highlighter, go check it out!

Chi Chi Brow Pomade in Dark Brown: I have officially run out of my Chi Chi Brow Pomade and now I’ve started to use my second pot. This is by far my favourite eyebrow product. With a good angled eyebrow brush, I can control how dark or light I want my eyebrows to look. The formula is quite creamy so it makes it real easy to draw the shape you want without it drying down too quickly. And with a spoolie you can easily blend out harsh edges or mistakes you might have made. I was actually surprised with how quickly I went through this stuff! After a couple of months I had run out, I thought it would last me a year. It’s not a bad thing! But it goes to show how much I love this pomade, I use it everyday regardless of where I’m going!

Australis Lash and Brow Extender: This is another product that I’ve re-purchased countless of times. This is hands-down the best eyebrow gel in the drugstore. I talked a bit about this in my last empties post so you can have a read of it there but yes, this is my favourite clear brow gel. If you’re after a tinted brow gel then look into the Essence Make Me Brow gel, that’s also an awesome product!

Maybelline Lash Senstional Lucious Mascara (Waterproof): So I remember trying the original Lash Senstional (the one in the pink bottle) and I hated it. My lashes are really thin and short and that mascara did nothing for them, it just clumped them up and didn’t really separate. So I wanted to give this one a go because I’ve heard some really good things about it. Hears hoping this one is going to work on me.

Maybelline Colour Jolt in Stripped Down: So I got this on a whim (I really need to control my impulse buying habits). I remember seeing it in one of Vivian V’s youtube videos. I got the colour Stripped down and I really really like it! I would say that this is a really good dupe of my favourite Too Faced Melted Liquid Lipstick in Chihuahua. It’s a liquid lipstick that is really comfortable to wear on the lips. It has a satin finish so it can look a bit glossy if you’re wearing a thick layer of lip balm underneath. It’s in a squeeze tube with a doe foot applicator on the end so it’s easy to control the amount of product you’re dispensing. If you don’t have the budget for the Too Faced one then I’d go for this is, the resemblance is pretty uncanny.

Revitanail Nail Strengthener: Here’s a bit of a random beauty item. I don’t really do my nails, only every now and then when I’m going to a special event somewhere. But I saw this and I figured this might be a really good way to keep my nails looking neat and shinny without actually using actual colour nail polish. I’ve only used it a few times but I really like how my nails look. It’s like clear polish but it’s got like a treatment in them so my nails aren’t gonna get all dry from using it. I’ll keep you posted on how this works out because I’m still not sure how I feel about it yet!

And that’s everything! I know this post was quite long and came out late!!! But nevertheless I hope you all enjoyed it, please like if you did! And let me know what new products you’ve purchased recently in the comments below. Be sure to also follow me on my socials listed below.

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

2 thoughts on “Autumn Make-up & Skincare Haul Ft. Dr. Dennis Gross, Bio-Oil & The Balm

Leave a Reply

