REVIEW: Maybelline Dream Cushion Foundation

Hi beauty friends~! I haven’t done a proper, in-depth product review in a while now. The last time I did a review on a single product was on the Chi Chi Brow Pomade but today I’m coming at you with my review of the Maybelline Dream Cushion Foundation. It’s been a while since I’ve used cushion foundations so I’m really keen to share my thoughts on this.

The Packaging: I’ve noticed that with a lot (if not all) of drugstore cushions are made for what you could describe as “single use”. Once you’ve run out you have to buy the whole compact again, you can’t just buy a refill. And that’s definitely a con for me because it’s a bit of waste throwing away these compacts when other brands have created cartridges that you can put into your existing compact.  So it’s probably not the most environmentally friendly but otherwise it’s a pretty cute compact. It definitely airs on the smaller and slimmer size compared to other cushions on the market. It’s quite solid and sturdy, it doesn’t seem like it’s going to shatter into pieces if you drop it which is great. And if you throw it into your bag or something then you won’t have worry about the product getting damaged or leaking since it has that air-tight lid to keep the cushion fresh. And the plastic case makes it really light and ideal for travel and on-the-go, which is sort of the whole point of a cushion foundation. It does come with a puff, so another point for travel friendly-ness. I actually really like the puff it comes with, it really allows you to control how much coverage and product you want. But if you don’t like this you can always toss it and just press a beauty blender in there to pick up some product.

The Sponge: Let’s just talk about the sponge itself for a moment. Is it just me or are the sponges in the western cushions…just…have larger “pores”? If you look at korean cushions, the sponges are a lot more fine. It’s hard to explain but I feel that because the korean cushion is a lot more fine and “dense”, it holds more product. As opposed to the sponge in the Maybelline cushion, I don’t know if this kind of sponge will hold the foundation as well as the finer sponge.  The product could be sitting at the bottom of the compact instead of being held within the sponge. But if it is sitting on the bottom you could always flip the sponge upside down to get some of that product. I don’t know, but it’s something to think about.

The Application: So this is meant to be a light-weight liquid foundation that will smooth and even the skin for a naturally luminous look. I like to the puff that it comes with to apply, I just gently press into the cushion and I get just the right amount of product onto my puff. And then with little patting motions I apply directly onto my face and starting blending out. So application is pretty straight forward, it’s a pretty fool-proof way to use liquid foundation so it’s really great for beginners. Upon the initial layer, it appears to be fairly light coverage, practically sheer. But with this cushion technology, it makes it a lot easier to build up the coverage. After about two-three layers I’m able to build up to medium coverage, any more than that and it’s going to feel heavy and cakey too. I have slightly oilier skin so I did use a primer and powder to set, but if you have dry skin then I think you’ll really like this product. It also has a bit of a cooling sensation when you first put it on, making it a pleasure to apply during the summer.

This was my go-to make-up look over the summer. A classic no make-up make-up look with some mascara, highlight and a nude lip. And hair thrown-up into a bun for an effortless look.

The Wear: So how does this hold up throughout the day? Well it’s gotten a little colder here in Melbourne and my skin has also been getting drier due to my acne medication. So to my surprise it actually held up incredibly well throughout the day. I would apply at 7AM and would take it off by 6PM and by then the foundation is still looking pretty nice. It maintained it’s coverage throughout the day and as the day goes on you can really see the luminosity shine through. Even after setting with the powder, I don’t look completely matte which I love because it makes my look natural, like the foundation is my own skin. It doesn’t feel uncomfortable, it doesn’t separate/look patchy and the second shade is a pretty nice match for my skin tone.

Final Thoughts: I really really like this cushion, I think I prefer this one over the L’Oreal cushion because it doesn’t feel as wet, which makes it harder to layer with. I also think this one fits my skin tone way better! I would definitely recommend to those of you with drier skin types, I don’t think think this will last very well on oily skin as it can appear quite dewy by the end of the day. I FORGOT TO MENTION IT HAS AN SPF OF 40 which is amazing considering there are very little drug store foundations that have such a high SPF in them.

Anyway that was my review of the Maybelline Dream Cushion Foundation. If you have been eyeing this or have been looking for a new foundation to try then I hope this was helpful for you. Let me know what cushion foundations you’ve tried and like! I’m always open to trying new products. And also let me know what product you’d like me to review! I don’t do enough reviews and I really want to do more for you guys so let me know!

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

<a href=”https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18856047/?claim=htz4dj5axsx”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

36 thoughts on “REVIEW: Maybelline Dream Cushion Foundation

  1. Now that you’ve mentioned it, you’re right – they don’t offer just buying the re-fills alone which sucks a lot. Didn’t think of that enough….mainly cos when I got the L’oreal one and tried it, I wasn’t that fussed lol.

    I also agree with the sponge and how it has larger pores. Glad I’m not the only one that’s noticed this!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I just checked Ulta and you’re right! Seems like the US one doesn’t have SPF. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, if you take photos when wearing it you won’t get flashback. But if you wear it during the day, just make sure to wear some sunscreen underneath 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yessss! Thank you for writing about this! I’ve been eyeballing this product for so long, hesitating because of my awful experience with the L’oreal cushion foundation… But I might just give this a go 🙂 I’ve been quite liking the one by Laneige (comes with a refill!) and my korean Code Glokolor one is still my all time fave.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You’re welcome! I’m glad you found it helpful! I still need to try the Laneige ones, I’ve heard really good things about them. And I’ve never heard of Code Glokolor so I’ll have to check to check it out. Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean, I definitely prefer liquid foundation as well…cushions also tend to not last very long. But I actually like this one a lot. Maybe over the next few years they’ll start developing less sticky cushions ^^

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like a great cushion! I’ve been using the Dior one, and I agree with you: the “pores” of the cushion are quite large. Not sure what that means about quantity of product.
    Also, I don’t know if you can do this with the Maybelline one, but on mine you can actually flip the cushion over for more product once you think you’ve run out!

    https://bybreannamarie.com/

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

