GRWM: Winter Berry Hues Ft. BYS Berries Eyeshadow Palette…(and brushes giveaway?!)

Hi beauty fam~! I finaly made some time to play around with my BYS Berries Shadow Palette, which BYS generously gifted me. But I usually wear neutral brown eyeshadows so I wasn’t really sure what kind of looks I could create with this. I had to really swatch the colours and have a play around with them and then I managed to create this really nice purple-y smokey eye that I wanted to share with you! It’s also been a while since I’ve done a GRWM so let’s get right into it!

The Base: I always start with a primer to keep all of my hard work in place and keep me lookin’ fresh AF all day long! For this look I use the L’Oreal Infalliable primer. It’s a silicon primer so it fills in the pores really well. It’a noy the best primer I;ve ever tried but it does a decent job. Then I go straight into foundation. I used the Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation, it’s my go-to foundation for when I need my make-up to stay in place all day…it also looks great in photos! I concealed a little bit under the eyes with the Bourjois Healthy Mis Anti-Fatigue concealer to hide them dark circles. I blend everything out with my rose gold oval brushes and then set everything with the Bare Minerals BarePro Powder Foundation. This stuff adds a little bit of coverage but it mainly set everything in place.

The Eyes: I filled in my brows using the Colourpop Brow Colour in Black N’ Brown. At first I thought this was wayyy to light but it turned out to be quite the perfect colour match. I like that it’s not too wet but it’s not a super dry formula either, making it really easy to work with. Then I prime my eyes with the Too Faced Shadow insurace to ensure my eyeshadow is gonna stay on my eyelids for a really long time!

As a base I used “W.O.S” from the Urban Decay Nake Basics palette to provide a smooth and even coloured canvas for the dramatic berry colours we’re about to use. Alright so to begin the amazing berry toned eyeshadow I started with the shade “Juliet” from the BYS palette. I used the Real Techniques Deluxe Crease brush to pack on the colour just slightly above my crease so that the colour is still showing when I open my eyes. Using the same brush I then take “Cherry Bomb” and focus this below my crease, it really intensifies that berry hue that we want on the lid. To give it that smokey effect, I took a small pencil brush and used “Shaded” to line my upper lash line. I didn’t try to be too precise with this because you’re not putting on eyeliner. You’re just using that brown to add a smokey element closer to the lash line. In a way you wanna try and create this dark to light gradient going dark at the lash line and lighter towards the brow bone. To finish off the eyeshadow I went back into my “W.O.S” shadow that I used at the start and used it to blend out any rough edges. Oh, and I used “Cherry Bomb” again in the outer corner of my bottom lid to add a little more drama to the eyes!

Then I added a subtle cat eye with my favourite K-Palette Liquid eyeliner in Brown…because a cat eye looks good with everything! Also used Colourpop’s Creme Gel Liner in a brown colour to tightline my eyes! I usually don’t do this either, but since this is suppose to be a more dramatic look, I thought I’d put in the extra effort. Then I wrapped up the eyes with two coats of two different mascaras…because my have small as lashes that need a lot of help.

The Lip’s N’ Cheek: Yep, more Colourpop stuff!! I have two of their face duos and used them to create a nice, glowy look to my complexion. I used the bronzer in the Topaz (black palette) Duo to subtly chisel down the cheeks. Then I went in with the highlighter from the Double Play Duo and used my unicorn fan brush to apply the highlight on my cheek bones, brow bone, inner corners, nose bridge, cupids bow, chin and a little on the forehead. Yes, it’s a lot of places to put highlight but I personally love the glowy effect I get from highlighting these areas. And to get that nice flush to the cheeks I used my trusty Etude House Cookie Blusher in Peach Parfait. Since the eyes are quite dramatic I decided to go with a more natural lip. Here I used the Etude House Dear My Blooming Lips Talk Chiffon in in BE109. Yeah, that’s quite a name! But this has been my go-to lippie since I got it. It has a soft matte finish, really comfortable on the lips and easy to apply…I gotta order another one soon!

And that’s the entire look! I actually had so much fun putting this together! It’s not my usual look but I would definitely wear this during the day, I think it’s a really fun look to wear. And since it’s winter in Australia, this look definitely adds some colour to the crappy and gloomy weather. It’ll also really pop when you’re wearing darker clothes so yay! I hope you guys enjoyed this GRWM! This has opened up a whole new world of eyeshadow for me and I really wanna experiment with more colours. BYS has a bunch of really affordable palettes so you can really play around with new trends without breaking the bank. I have another one of their 10-colour palettes and highlighting palette and the stuff is really good for the price, highly recommend if you’re looking for beauty on a budge. Let me know what kind of other looks I should try out and I’ll see you all next week~! xx

OOOOH ONE LAST THING!!!! I am holding a giveaway!!!! As a thank you for everyone for reading and supporting my blog, I wanted to hold a giveaway to celebrate 2000 followers on wordpress and 1000 followers on Instagram!! I will be holding this giveaway over on my instagram since it’s easier to hold giveaway there…so head on over there to find out how you can win Rose Gold Oval Brushes or Unicorn Brushes (which I also used in this GRWM!)! Thank you all again!!! Thank you for taking the time to read and comment and follow my blog posts. I really enjoy writing these posts so I’m really happy you guys enjoy them too! I hope you guys enter the giveaway because this is my way to say thank you!

Let’s stay connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

 

 

25 thoughts on “GRWM: Winter Berry Hues Ft. BYS Berries Eyeshadow Palette…(and brushes giveaway?!)

  1. You have got me curious about the Double Wear now! Of course, I’ve heard a lot about it…how does it fare in hot climates, do you know?

    Love the eyeshadows. I’m too lazy to wear eyeshadow myself.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

